10 historical facts about Newcastle United

As part of a new feature for the website this year we will bring you ten interesting facts about our opponents each time they visit the Liberty. We start with the first visitors to south Wales this term – Newcastle United

  1. The club was founded in 1892 by the merging of two clubs – Newcastle East End and Newcastle West End. Since then they have continuously played at St James’ Park.
  2. Their badge is modelled on the City coat-of-arms. The two sea-horses represents Tyneside’s strong connection with the sea, while the castle links with the city’s Norman keep.
  3. The Magpies have been champions of England on four occasions with the most recent of these (if you can call it recent) in 1927.
  4. Their last major honour was in 1955 when they won the FA Cup for the third time in four years and sixth time overall.
  5. Record goal scorer is local hero Alan Shearer with 206 in all competitions. He overtook another local hero Jackie Milburn’s long standing record of 200 shortly before he retired in 2006.
  6. Kevin Keegan paid a world record fee of £15 million to sign Shearer in 1996. Their record purchase is now Michael Owen for £17 million while their record sale in £35 million for Andy Carroll in 2011.
  7. The “Golden Boy” Ivor Allchurch the Swans record goal scorer had a four year spell in the North East from 1958 -1962. In more recent times, Wayne Routledge and Shefki Kuqi have appeared for both clubs.
  8. Newcastle’s record appearance make is goalkeeper Jimmy Lawrence who played for the club 496 times between 1904-22.
  9. They have been in the Premier league for 22 of the 24 campaigns since it was formed. Only missing the inaugural 1992/3 and 2009/10 seasons respectively.
  10. The Magpies are the Swans favourite opposition in the Premier league having picked up five wins in the eight meetings.